Exchange 2010: Powershell health script


Microsoft Exchange 2010 comes packaged with some very powerful scripting capabilities. Microsoft’s new stance on being able to code anything anywhere anytime proves to provide much needed information on the fly and in many forms.

Today I would like to focus on a script I came across that generates a health report and exports the information to email in HTML format.

The original scrip written by Paul Cunningham can be found: here.

The script outputs a very simplistic view of what services are running and any immediate problems being reported by Exchange.

The output looks something like this:

As you can see in this report some of the required services are not running in exchange. I can now go back to my exchange server and run the command:

Test-ServiceHealth

This command will give you an overview of which services may or may not be running.

I make this part of my morning routine to do a health check on the Exchange server and make sure everything is humming along the way it should.

There is a way to schedule the script as a task but I have yet to enable this to work. If anyone has any insight into this please drop a comment. Thanks!

Leave a comment